Stefan Wehrli
Passion

Heldswil is a small village in canton Thurgau. It is well known to many equestrians around Europe, mainly thanks to farrier Stefan Wehrli, established here since 1997. His clients come from all over Europe, and you’ll often see a horse lorry from Italy, Germany or Holland parked in front of the forge. Vets and owners alike value his accurate eye and his feel with horses.

Stefan Wehrli has successfully competed in showjumping up to 1.45m, with horses that he had produced from the start up through the levels. This experience has greatly helped him understand the demands and expectations of his clients.

 

Stefan decided to be a farrier when he was 5 years old. He completed his apprenticeship under Theodor Bühler in Abtwil. He gained a lot of experience in the army, where he worked as military farrier. After that, he worked as a farrier for Hans Schäfer in Schlatt. He became independent in 1995, and opened his own forge in Heldswil in 1997. Since then, he has attended numerous courses. For many years now, Stefan Wehli has been going regularly to the US to learn from Dr Ric Redden. Ric Redden is a vet and a farrier, and has been Stefan’s main teacher. Stefan has also followed courses with Dr Scott Morrisson in the US and Rob Renirie in Holland.

 

The secret of his success ? « I try to gather as much information as I can through thorough observation, in order to find the best solution for the horse. X-rays are a great tool to choose the best shoeing technique for each horse. » This obviously works for him, as can be seen by his good reputation as a specialist for problem cases. His client list is a sample of the international equestrian scene.

 

His business activities currently span three areas: horse shoeing, continuous professional education and products.

 

As a Farrier, he has specialised in two domains: the shoeing of top sport horses, and therapeutic shoeing of horses with limb and hoof problems. His sport horse clientele are mainly showjumpers, many of which have participated in the Olympics, World championships and European championships. Stefan also shoes dressage horses and racehorses at the top level of their sport. When working on therapeutic shoeing, Stefan has collaborated with renowned vets all over Europe. He also shoes and treats horses at home, where he has stables for his clients’ horses. Whether laminitis, quatercracks, tendon or joint problems, Stefan Wehrli can offer optimal solutions thanks to collaboration with the corresponding specialist and excellent infrastructures.

 

Since 2010, Stefan has been organising continuous professional education courses to share his experience with farriers and vets. In 2019, he founded together with Dr. Christian Struchen and Julien Houser the WEPA (Wehrli Equine Podiatry Academy). For vets and farriers alike, the duration of the curriculum is two years, with three modules per year. Each module is two days long and includes a public evening, where all horse people are welcome and can benefit from the WEPA. Besides his academic activities, Stefan is also a sought after lecturer at international congresses.

His constant quest for better solutions has led him to develop his own products. With the WTS Light, WTS Solid, WTS Race, WTS Soft Heel, WTS Therpeutic and the corresponding accessories,  he is able to offer a comprehensive range of products for performance and therapeutic shoeing. WTS stands for Wehrli Traction Shoe.  Furthermore, he is a reseller for NANRIC products, developed by Dr Ric Redden. All these products are only available for farriers  and veterinarians who have completed the corresponding courses for the use of said products. The correct use of these products is very important for Stefan Wehrli.

Stefan1.JPG

Stefan Wehrli is constantly looking for the best solution for the horse.

Dr. Ric Redden, USA - Stefan Wehrli's most important teacher

Stefan2.JPG

Stefan Wehrli was a keen rider himself.

Stefan und Robin.jpg

Stefan Wehrli was a keen rider himself.

WEHRLI  Educa­tion & Products GmbH

SHOEING FOR SOUNDNESS GmbH

Kirchstrasse  9216 Heldswil  Schweiz

swehrli@bluewin.ch    0041 79 419 42 04

Stefan Wehrli
Aus Leidenschaft

Das kleine Dorf Heldswil im Kanton Thurgau ist vielen Pferdefreunden ein Begriff. Das liegt in erster Linie an Hufschmied Stefan Wehrli, der hier seit 1997 seine Schmiede betreibt. Seine Kundschaft ist international; oft stehen Pferdetransporter aus Italien, Holland oder Deutschland vor den Toren seines Betriebs. Tierärzte und Pferdebesitzer aus ganz Europa schätzen sein genaues Auge und sein Einfühlungsvermögen fürs Pferd.

 

Stefan Wehrli nahm mit seinen selbstausgebildeten Springpferden erfolgreich an Turnieren bis 145 cm Höhe teil. Diese Erfahrungen helfen ihm enorm, die Anliegen seiner Kundschaft zu verstehen.

 

Schon mit fünf Jahren wusste Stefan Wehrli, dass er Hufschmied werden wollte. Dieses Ziel verlor er nie aus den Augen. Er absolvierte bei Theodor Bühler in Abtwil die Lehre, sammelte als Militärhufschmied viele Erfahrungen und arbeitete nach dem Militär bei Hans Schäfer in Schlatt (ZH) als Hufschmied. 1995 machte er sich selbständig und eröffnete 1997 seine eigene Schmiede in Heldswil. In verschiedenen Kursen und Workshops hat er sich seither weitergebildet. Seit vielen Jahren besucht Stefan Wehrli immer wieder Dr. Ric Redden in den USA. Ric Redden ist Tierarzt und Hufschmied. Von ihm lernte Stefan Wehrli weitaus am meisten. Weitere Auslandaufenthalte absolvierte er bei Dr. Scott Morrison USA, und bei Rob Renirie in Holland.

Und das Geheimnis seines Erfolgs? "Ich versuche, durch genaues Beobachten möglichst viele Informationen zu sammeln, um so die optimalste Lösung für das Pferd zu finden. Ein wichtiges Hilfsmittel zur Wahl der richtigen Beschlagtechnik sind dabei Röntgenbilder." Dass ihm das offensichtlich gut gelingt, zeigt sein guter Ruf unter anderem als Spezialist für Problemfälle. Seine Kundenliste liest sich wie das Who-is-Who der internationalen Reiterszene.  

 

Aktuell umfasst seine Geschäftstätigkeit drei Bereiche: Hufbeschlag, Weiterbildungskurse und Produkte. 

 

Beim Hufbeschlag hat er sich auf zwei Bereiche spezialisiert; den Beschlag von Spitzensportpferden und den Therapiebeschlag bei Huf- und Gliedmassenproblemen. Bei den Sportpferden machen Springpferde den Hauptbestandteil der Kundschaft aus. Diese Pferde werden erfolgreich an der Olympiade, den Weltmeisterschaften und den Europameisterschaften eingesetzt. Auch Dressur-und Rennpferde auf internationalem Niveau werden von Stefan Wehrli betreut. Bei den Therapiebeschlägen arbeitet er mit renommierten Tierärzten aus ganz Europa zusammen. Die Pferde können auch stationär behandelt werden, weil Gastboxen zur Schmiede dazu gehören. Ob Hufrehe oder Hornspalt, Sehnen oder Gelenksprobleme, Dank der optimalen Infrastruktur und der Zusammenarbeit mit den entsprechenden Spezialisten, können optimale Lösungen angeboten werden.

 

Um sein Wissen weiter zugeben und Erfahrungen mit Tierärzten und Hufschmieden zu teilen, führt Stefan Wehrli seit 2010 Weiterbildungskurse durch.

2019 gründete er zusammen mit Dr. Christian Struchen und Julien Houser die Wehrli Equine Podiatry Academy WEPA. Der Studiengang bei der Academy dauert für Hufschmiede und Tierärzte 2 Jahre. Pro Jahr finden 3 Module statt, welche jeweils 2 Tage dauern. Damit auch alle anderen Pferdeleute vom an der WEPA vermittelten Wissen profitieren können, findet zu jedem Modul ein Public evening statt. Neben seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Academy ist Stefan Wehrli auch ein gefragter Referent an internationalen Kongressen.

 

Sein Streben nach optimalen Lösungen, hat ihn dazu veranlasst, um eigene Produkte zu entwickeln. Mit den WTS Light, WTS Solid, WTS Race, WTS Soft Heel, WTS Therapeutic, WTS Flex Heel, WTS Revolution und dem entsprechenden Zubehör führt er ein umfassendes Programm an Produkten für den Sport- und Therapiebeschlag. Sämtliche WTS Produkte sind patentgeschützt. WTS bedeutet Wehrli Traction Shoe. Zusätzlich ist er Wiederverkäufer für die NANRIC Produkte von Dr. Ric Redden. Alle Produkte werden nur an Hufschmiede und Tierärzte verkauft, welche entsprechend beraten werden. Die korrekte Anwendung aller Produkte ist für Stefan Wehrli sehr wichtig.

Stefan1.JPG

Stefan Wehrli ist stets auf der Suche nach der optimalsten Lösung für das Pferd.

Dr. Ric Redden, USA - Stefan Wehrli's wichtigster Lehrer

Stefan2.JPG

Stefan Wehrli war selbst ein passionierter Reiter.

Stefan und Robin.jpg

Robin (1988) und Stefan (1971) seit 1993 ein Team.

 AGB  Datenschutz 

WEHRLI  Educa­tion & Products GmbH

SHOEING FOR SOUNDNESS GmbH

Kirchstrasse  9216 Heldswil  Schweiz

swehrli@bluewin.ch    0041 79 419 42 04