Development
WTS Wehrli Traction Shoe − Development

Goal was to create a horseshoe that is attached relatively to PIII, provides high comfort and excellent traction, in order to bring the equine athlete to it´s peak performance. After 2.5  years of intense Research & development the WTS-Shoe was ready do be introduced to the market.

In the beginning I manufactured the HS individually for each horse. Using a highly standardized X-Ray and marking protocol we were able to determine the exact location and shape of PIII. I copied the silhouette of  PIII stood the hoof on a piece of cardboard copying the perimeter. Regarding these models I made a shoe one at a time for each hoof.

Both models were copied to sheet steel and then cutted out using  a plasma cutter. The pieces were then welded together according to the AP and ML markings.

Different designs for traction enhancing profiles were tested. For each shoe I kept precise record regarding steel thickness, rim profile, nail type, usage of clips and various other details.

In order to design a standard horseshoe with optimized fit for all feet I gathered  data like hoofshapes, shapes of PIII, angles of the bars, angles of frogs, shape of heels....

These results led to the shape of the shoe. Due to the fact that neither symmetrical hoofs nor symmetri-cal coffin bones do exist a design evolved that inherits asymmetry of 6%. A model for left and right feet.

In exhausting manual labour I manufactured this prototype. It served as the submission for the models that were cut out with a laser cutter.

Here is the proof that my idea is working. If the markings along the long and short axis on the shoe are aligned with the corresponding markings on the foot, the part of the WTS-shoe resembling the perimeter of the coffin bone is positioned exactly underneath PIII. Shape and position match perfectly.

This also holds true in dorso/palmar and medio/lateral X-Ray studies. The steel matches the coffin bone.

This is the first model, welded together out  of three laser cut parts. The left one with frog support whereas the the right one gives bilateral support. Both features are made of aluminium and can be riveted  to the shoe.

The firts Wehrli Traction Shoe, CNC milled. Made from one piece of 52 steel.

WEHRLI  Educa­tion & Products GmbH

SHOEING FOR SOUNDNESS GmbH

Kirchstrasse  9216 Heldswil  Schweiz

swehrli@bluewin.ch    0041 79 419 42 04

Développement
WTS Wehrli Traction Shoe − Développement

Les objectifs étaient de concevoir un fer que l’on pose selon la position de l’os du pied, qui offre un grand confort au cheval, et qui permet une bonne prise au sol afin d’optimiser la performance du cheval. Après deux ans et demi de travail et recherche intensifs, le fer WTS était prêt à être mis sur le marché.

Au début, je forgeais les fers individuellement pour chaque cheval. Grâce à la technique de marquage et radiographie, il est possible de connaître la forme et position exactes de l’os du pied. Je décalquais la forme de l’os du pied directement à partir de la radiographie. Je posais le pied sur un carton pour dessiner la forme du sabot. À partir de ces formes, je créais un fer unique pour chaque sabot.

Les deux parties étaient redessinées sur une tôle d’acier et découpées au coupeur plasma. Elles étaient ensuite soudées ensemble en suivant les marquages longitudinaux et transversaux.

Différents profils de rainures de traction ont été testés. Pour chaque ferrure, je faisais un rapport : épaisseur du métal, profil des rainures de traction, clous, avec/sans élévation,…

Afin de pouvoir concevoir un fer qui pourrait s’adapter au mieux à chaque sabot, j’ai rassemblé beaucoup de données : formes du sabot, formes de l’os du pied, angle des arcs-­ boutants, angle de la fourchette, forme des talons, …

À partir de ces résultats, j’ai développé cette forme de fer. Comme le sabot et l’os du pied ne sont jamais parfaitement symétriques, le fer que j’ai conçu présente une asymétrie de 6%. Il  y a donc un fer droit et un fer gauche.

J’ai fabriqué ce prototype à la main et à l’huile de coude. Il sert de modèle pour les fers coupés au laser.

Voici la preuve que mon idée fonctionne : Lorsque l’on centre les repères longitudinaux et transversaux du fer sur les repères du sabot, la partie du fer WTS correspondant à l’os du pied se trouve exactement sous l’os du pied. La forme et la position correspondent.

Les radiographies latérale et DP montrent également que la partie du fer WTS correspondant à l’os du pied se trouve exactement sous l’os du pied.

Voici le premier modèle, formé de trois parties coupées au laser et soudées ensemble. À gauche, avec planche de soutien de la fourchette, et à droite avec soutien latéral. Dans les deux cas, la partie supplémentaire est en aluminium, et fixée avec des rivets.

Le premier Wehrli Traction Shoe fabriqué au laser. Fait en acier 52.

WEHRLI  Educa­tion & Products GmbH

SHOEING FOR SOUNDNESS GmbH

Kirchstrasse  9216 Heldswil  Schweiz

swehrli@bluewin.ch    0041 79 419 42 04