Stefan Wehrli
Passion

Heldswil is a small village in canton Thurgau. It is well known to many equestrians around Europe, mainly thanks to farrier Stefan Wehrli, established here since 1997. His clients come from all over Europe, and you’ll often see a horse lorry from Italy, Germany or Holland parked in front of the forge. Vets and owners alike value his accurate eye and his feel with horses.

Stefan Wehrli has successfully competed in showjumping up to 1.45m, with horses that he had produced from the start up through the levels. This experience has greatly helped him understand the demands and expectations of his clients.

 

Stefan decided to be a farrier when he was 5 years old. He completed his apprenticeship under Theodor Bühler in Abtwil. He gained a lot of experience in the army, where he worked as military farrier. After that, he worked as a farrier for Hans Schäfer in Schlatt. He became independent in 1995, and opened his own forge in Heldswil in 1997. Since then, he has attended numerous courses. For many years now, Stefan Wehli has been going regularly to the US to learn from Dr Ric Redden. Ric Redden is a vet and a farrier, and has been Stefan’s main teacher. Stefan has also followed courses with Dr Scott Morrisson in the US and Rob Renirie in Holland.

 

The secret of his success ? « I try to gather as much information as I can through thorough observation, in order to find the best solution for the horse. X-rays are a great tool to choose the best shoeing technique for each horse. » This obviously works for him, as can be seen by his good reputation as a specialist for problem cases. His client list is a sample of the international equestrian scene.

 

His business activities currently span three areas: horse shoeing, continuous professional education and products.

 

As a Farrier, he has specialised in two domains: the shoeing of top sport horses, and therapeutic shoeing of horses with limb and hoof problems. His sport horse clientele are mainly showjumpers, many of which have participated in the Olympics, World championships and European championships. Stefan also shoes dressage horses and racehorses at the top level of their sport. When working on therapeutic shoeing, Stefan has collaborated with renowned vets all over Europe. He also shoes and treats horses at home, where he has stables for his clients’ horses. Whether laminitis, quatercracks, tendon or joint problems, Stefan Wehrli can offer optimal solutions thanks to collaboration with the corresponding specialist and excellent infrastructures.

 

Since 2010, Stefan has been organising continuous professional education courses to share his experience with farriers and vets. In 2019, he founded together with Dr. Christian Struchen and Julien Houser the WEPA (Wehrli Equine Podiatry Academy). For vets and farriers alike, the duration of the curriculum is two years, with three modules per year. Each module is two days long and includes a public evening, where all horse people are welcome and can benefit from the WEPA. Besides his academic activities, Stefan is also a sought after lecturer at international congresses.

His constant quest for better solutions has led him to develop his own products. With the WTS Light, WTS Solid, WTS Race, WTS Soft Heel, WTS Therpeutic and the corresponding accessories,  he is able to offer a comprehensive range of products for performance and therapeutic shoeing. WTS stands for Wehrli Traction Shoe.  Furthermore, he is a reseller for NANRIC products, developed by Dr Ric Redden. All these products are only available for farriers  and veterinarians who have completed the corresponding courses for the use of said products. The correct use of these products is very important for Stefan Wehrli.

Stefan1.JPG

Stefan Wehrli is constantly looking for the best solution for the horse.

Dr. Ric Redden, USA - Stefan Wehrli's most important teacher

Stefan2.JPG

Stefan Wehrli was a keen rider himself.

Stefan und Robin.jpg

Stefan Wehrli was a keen rider himself.

WEHRLI  Educa­tion & Products GmbH

SHOEING FOR SOUNDNESS GmbH

Kirchstrasse  9216 Heldswil  Schweiz

swehrli@bluewin.ch    0041 79 419 42 04

Stefan Wehrli
Par passion

Le petit village de Heldswil dans le canton de Thurgovie est bien connu dans le milieu équestre, grâce à Stefan Wehrli, maréchal-ferrant, qui y a établi sa forge en 1997. Sa clientèle est internationale : Souvent, des camions venus d’Italie, d’Allemagne ou de Hollande stationnent devant le portail de son entreprise. Vétérinaires et propriétaires de chevaux de toute l’Europe apprécient son œil affûté et sa compréhension des chevaux.

Plus jeune, Stefan Wehrli a tourné avec succès en compétition de saut d’obstacle jusqu’en 145cm, avec des chevaux qu’il avait formés lui-même. Cette précieuse expérience l’aide aujourd’hui énormément à comprendre les demandes et les exigences de sa clientèle.

 

À l’âge de 5 ans déjà, Stefan Wehrli savait qu’il voulait devenir maréchal-ferrant, une ambition qu’il n’a jamais perdu de vue. Il termine son apprentissage chez Theodor Bühler à Abtwil, puis acquière énormément d’expérience à l’armée en tant que maréchal-ferrant militaire avec Hans Schäfer à Schlatt (ZH). En 1995, il devient indépendant, et en 1997 il ouvre sa propre forge à Heldswil. Il continue de se former grâce à divers cours et ateliers. Depuis de nombreuses années, il se rend régulièrement chez le Dr. Ric Redden, aux USA. Ric Redden est vétérinaire et maréchal-ferrant. C’est de lui que Stefan a le plus appris. Il a également suivi les cours du Dr Scott Morrison aux USA et Rob Renirie en Hollande.

 

Le secret de son succès ? « Lors de chaque ferrage, j’essaie d’obtenir le plus d’information possible avant de ferrer afin de pouvoir proposer la meilleure solution pour le cheval. J’observe très attentivement chaque cheval et je m’aide de radiographies pour déterminer quelle technique de ferrage conviendra au mieux pour ce cheval. » Son excellente réputation en tant que spécialiste de cas difficiles parle d’elle-même. Certains de ses clients comptent parmi les stars du monde équestre international.

 

Ses activités professionnelles couvrent actuellement trois domaines : la maréchalerie, les cours de formation continue, et la vente de produits de maréchalerie. 

 

En tant que maréchal, il s’est spécialisé dans deux domaines : le ferrage de chevaux de sport de haut niveau, et le ferrage thérapeutique de cas difficiles. Sa clientèle de sport de compose principalement de chevaux de saut d’obstacles. Beaucoup de ces chevaux ont participé avec succès aux Jeux Olympiques, aux championnats du monde et aux championnats d’Europe. Stefan ferre également des chevaux de dressage et des chevaux de course de calibre international. Pour les cas de ferrage thérapeutique – Fourbure, seimes, problèmes articulaires, problèmes de tendons, etc. – Stefan collabore souvent avec des vétérinaires spécialisés de renommée internationale, permettant de trouver la meilleure solution pour chaque cheval. Les chevaux référés peuvent rester sur place pour toute la durée du traitement grâce aux boxes prévus à cet effet à sa forge à Heldswil.

 

Depuis 2010, Stefan organise des cours de formation continue afin de transmettre ses compétences et partager son expérience avec d’autres maréchaux et vétérinaires. En 2019, il fonde avec le Dr. Christian Struchen et Julien Houser la Wehrli Equine Podiatry Academy, WEPA. Le curriculum dure 2 ans, à raison de 3 modules par année. Chaque module dure deux jours, et inclut une public evening, afin que tous les acteurs du monde équestre puissent profiter des connaissances transmises par la WEPA. À côté de ses activités académiques, Stefan est aussi un conférencier très demandé lors de congrès internationaux.

 

Ses constantes recherches de la solution optimale ont conduit Stefan à développer ses propres produits de maréchalerie. Les fers WTS Light, WTS Solid, WTS Race, WTS Soft Heel, WTS Therapeutic, WTS Flex Heel, WTS Revolution et produits associés offrent une gamme complète pour ferrages de sport et ferrages thérapeutique. WTS veut dire Wehrli Traction Shoe ; tous ses produits sont brevetés. Stefan est également revendeur de produits NANRIC développés par le Dr Ric Redden. Tous ces produits ne sont vendus qu’aux maréchaux et vétérinaires adéquatement formés : Stefan tient à l’utilisation correcte de ses produits.

Stefan1.JPG

Stefan Wehrli est constamment à la recherche de la meilleure solution pour le cheval. 

Dr. Ric Redden, USA - Le professeur le plus important de Stefan Wehrli

Stefan2.JPG

Stefan Wehrli était lui même un cavalier passionné.

Stefan und Robin.jpg

Stefan Wehrli était lui même un cavalier passionné.

WEHRLI  Educa­tion & Products GmbH

SHOEING FOR SOUNDNESS GmbH

Kirchstrasse  9216 Heldswil  Schweiz

swehrli@bluewin.ch    0041 79 419 42 04